Friday, March 18, 2005

blue hawaii goes pow pow with a thousand rabbits running

Icy Demons is a new band featuring bass player / producer Griffin Rodriquez (Bablicon), drummer Chris Powell (Need New Body), and Chicago instrumentalists Dave Moyland, Matt Schneider, & Dave McDonnell. Their debut album is an epic journey into the nether regions of pop music, hallucinatory chamber jazz, and mid-70s German-style electronics, the rich / warm sound of the upright bass is perfectly captured within the exquisite orchestrations featuring layered woodwinds occasional vocals, and complex percussion patterns. Sounds like Elephant 6 you say? You are correct, sir! Cloud Recordings put out the release and you may recognize their name from other fine products such as Olivia Tremor Control, Circulatory System, and A Hawk and a Handsaw.

Check them out now on a brief tour with Chicago's Pit er Pat, who they have a split release with on Polyvinyl.

Icy Demons - Desert Toll
icy Demons - Icy Demons


Post a Comment

<< Home